Essex Research Group

Computational Simulation of Biomolecular Systems

Members

Below are the current members of the group, click here for a list of all previous members

Click on an image below to read about that person's research.

Prof. Jonathan Essex

DPhil. University of Oxford

Email: j.w.essex@soton.ac.uk

Jonathan Essex was an undergraduate at Oriel College, Oxford, and graduated with a first class honours degree in Chemistry in 1989. He then studied for a D.Phil. in computational modelling under the supervision of Prof W.G. Richards at the same institution. During his postgraduate degree he was supported by a Glaxo Research Scholarship. Having obtained his D.Phil. in 1992, he took up an SERC/NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship in the group of Prof W.L. Jorgensen at Yale University. In 1994 he returned to the UK to the University of Southampton as a Royal Society University Research Fellow. He was appointed Lecturer in 1997, Senior Lecturer in 2001, Reader in 2005 and to a Personal Chair in 2007.

Jon was awarded the 2002 Marlow Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry for his work in the development of techniques and application of molecular simulations to the study of proteins and related systems of biological importance. He was awarded a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2013. He is an Editorial Board member of the Journal of Computer Aided Molecular Design and Chemistry Central. In addition, he serves on the Management Board of CCPBioSim, a collaborative chemistry project dedicated to biomolecular computer simulations, is a member of the EPSRC college, and has served on the Project Working Group for the procurement of HECToR, the UK’s next generation supercomputer.

Khaled Abdel Maksoud

MSc Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, University of Oxford

Email: K.Abdel-Maksoud@soton.ac.uk

Marley Samways

MChem Chemistry, University of Southampton

Email: mls2g13@soton.ac.uk

James Easton

MChem Chemistry, University of Southampton

Email: jwe1g13@soton.ac.uk

Mabel Wong

MBiochem, University of Oxford

Email: M.T.Y.Wong@soton.ac.uk

Hayden Fisher

MRes, University of Southampton

Email: H.Fisher@soton.ac.uk

Miroslav Suruzhon

MSc Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, University of Oxford

Email: M.Suruzhon@soton.ac.uk

João Morado

MSc Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, University of Oxford

Email: J.Morado@soton.ac.uk

James Craswell

MChem Chemistry, University of Southampton

Email: jac1g14@soton.ac.uk

Hope Amos

BSc Biochemistry, University of Bath

Email: h.amos@soton.ac.uk

Anna Cavalleri

MChem Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry, University of St. Andrews

Email: A.Cavalleri@soton.ac.uk

Dimitris Stamatis

MSc Medicinal Chemistry - Drug Design, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Email: D.Stamatis@soton.ac.uk

Jack Sawdon

MBiochem, University of York

Email: J.Sawdon@soton.ac.uk

Will Poole

MChem Chemistry, University of Southampton

Email: wp1g16@soton.ac.uk

Ollie Melling

MChem Chemistry, University of Southampton

Email: ojm2g16@soton.ac.uk

Steven Turner

MRes Advanced Biological Sciences, University of Southampton

Email: sct1g15@soton.ac.uk